The Life of Mary

Saturday was my 39th birthday. The first thing I did was to read from a devotional book “Pray Truth: Praying God’s Word for My Husband’s Heart” by Erika Dawson. Then I did some sewing for a friend, all before I did anything for myself and honestly, it didn’t dawn on me that it was my birthday and I was doing something for someone else until I looked back on the day. Then the next thing I did was very different for a birthday. I went to a funeral. I’ll be honest I didn’t know the lady well. She happened to be a very good friend to some very good friends of mine. I went to support them and because they asked for people to come help sing. The lady’s name was Mary.

Mary lived a long life. Unfortunately her last years were plagued by Alzheimer’s. But she was loved. She lived her life in a way that had a positive impact on those around her. It was evident by her funeral. No, it wasn’t large, filled with tons of mourners. But, that’s too be expected when a person gets a certain age. However, the amount of love felt for her in that room was immeasurable. I want that for my life. I want to be known for my love.

You know we often pray for God to show us that we are going in the right direction and doing what He wants. Saturday I think He showed me I was on the right track. My desire this years is to put my faith into action and do that by putting others first. Our society has us thinking completely differently on this. It says we should be self focused, but that’s not what God says. Philippians 2:3 says “Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.”, there are many more verses that echo that same comment. Nowhere have I found that it says “Yo, YOU!! yea, YOU, you are better than everyone else and YOU should put YOU first!” or anything close to that. So that’s my goal this year, put others first. I honestly hope and pray that this will make me a better wife, mother, and friend.At the end of my life no matter how many people are there at my funeral. I want the love I had for others to be evident. Rest in Peace Mary, you were loved.

Leave a Reply

