OKinaBox

WAHMReviewer – Cecily Butler

I grew up in OK and moved away when I started college and haven’t moved back. So when I got the opportunity to do this review I was super excited.

I grew up in OK and moved away when I started college and haven’t moved back. So when I got the opportunity to do this review I was super excited. I contacted them thru Facebook (www.facebook.com/OKinAbox) and was shocked when just a few days later I had a box in the mail. The shipping was super fast.

 

The first thing I tried was the Cinnamon Sugar covered pecans! WOW. Yummy! I didn’t want to share. However, my hubby found them and thought they’d be great to take hunting and I never saw them again.

 

The first thing I tried was the Cinnamon Sugar covered pecans! WOW. Yummy! I didn’t want to share. However, my hubby found them and thought they’d be great to take hunting and I never saw them again.

My son harvested his first deer. I thought it would be great to try the Daddy Hinkle’s Onion and Garlic marinade on it. WOW! It was. It was super easy and very tasty. That same night we made the Mama Rae’s Spunky Spuds. Those too were really easy and yummy. I liked having a different option for making potatoes. They were almost like fried potatoes with out the frying.

That same night we made the Mama Rae’s Spunky Spuds. Those too were really easy and yummy.

However, my favorite of the night was biscuits with the Southern Okie Gourmet Apple spread. I’m not a fan off apple butter or apple jam or even apple pie. But this stuff is totally amazing. Oh my goodness I wanted to make biscuits every day just so I could eat it (that seemed just slightly more appropriate than sitting down and eating the jarful with a spoon).

 

However, my favorite of the night was biscuits with the Southern Okie Gourmet Apple spread.

I must admit I was hesitant to try the Mama Rae’s Holy Guacamole. My family and I aren’t big fan’s of guacamole. Plus, I had just tried to make some on my own and it was a total failure. So it took a little bit for me to get up the nerve (and to remember to buy avocados at the store). I let my 8 yo help me and finally had to make her leave the counter because “Mom, I just can’t stop eating it”. It’s really really good.

I only have a couple of suggestions. It would be nice if the Mama Rae’s stuff was in re-sealable bags; b/c there’s more than one serving (which is TOTALLY awesome). Also, the directions for the Holy Guacamole called for Mama Rae’s salsa. I didn’t have that, so I just used the salsa I had, but it would have been neat to have the Mama Rae’s to try as well.

This box subscription is really cool because you get different items each month. You can look on their website is www.okinabox.com and see what this month’s goodies are. Subscriptions are available in three different levels, 1 month ($29), 3 months ($24/month), or 6 months ($19/month). Oh- and they always have free shipping. If you long for the taste of home, or just want to try something new, I’d recommend OKinaBox! This makes a great gift, too.

 

Questions and comments are always welcome below.

If you liked this review you may like to read 

 

Click here to read more WAHMReviews!

Leave a Reply

