Road trips

How in the world did our parents and grandparents survive road trips…..we’ve got one kid on a ds, two watching a movie, me playing on my phone…Still we get the dreaded “Are we there yet???”

My kids don’t know there was a time before portable entertainment, a time when you actually had to entertain yourself. I must be honest though, I’m glad we have it. It makes it much easier for me to take a nap, lol.

I remember as a kid (before seatbelt laws) laying in the floorboard of our car and pretending the lights on the radio was the tv and I was watching M*A*S*H or something. We even had a cot that went in the back of the car into a bed. Ahh, those were the days…

The funny thing is my kids think the 3-6 hours to grandparents house (depending on which one we are going to) is forever. The older two don’t remember the 12-15 hour trips we took when we lived in MI. But at least they have plenty to do…

Oh and just a heads up, if you are traveling in MO or KS this weekend the highway patrol are out, ski drive safe.

Sweet Dreams & Pleasant Nightmares,
Cecily

Leave a Reply

