Cursing and Kids…

I recently read a post somewhere and a person asked, “When is ok to let your kids curse around you?” Well….I don’t know the person and I don’t follow their blog or page, so I chose not to respond. But I read some of the responses and I was very surprised. Maybe my Nightmare keeps me out of the loop and in my own little world….but my response would have been NEVER. Of course I don’t personally feel it is appropriate to curse, use cuss words or whatever you want to call it. I’m not overly offended when someone does, but for as for me- I don’t. Well, at least most of the time. I understand things happen, words slip out. But when it comes down to it, I ask myself, if I say these words am I improving myself, do I sound more intelligent? You have to answer that question for yourself, but I can tell you for me the answer is a resounding NO. The thing of it is, for me personally it isn’t even as much a matter of the above questions be answered NO, but of this– If I claim to be a Christian and God’s child, is that language appropriate for me to use? Is God glorified by it? Would I talk to Jesus using those words? Based on Exodus 20:7 You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain. I can’t talk that way. I realize the the verse doesn’t specifically say don’t cuss, but if we aren’t to take the Lord’s name in vain do you think He wants us to use other language like that. I have lots of friends who chose to use language I don’t, and like I said I am NOT offended by it. What struck me was the post I mentioned above. If I don’t think it’s ok for me to talk that way then I’m certainly not going to let my children.

 

Sweet Dreams and Pleasant Nightmares,

Cecily

3 thoughts on “Cursing and Kids…

Leave a Reply

