Country life

Ok- so most of the time I really enjoy living in the country. It’s quiet, peaceful even w/the kids running around. Our house is almost completely secluded. The joy of being able to see God’s handiwork at any given second. However…….there are times that the city (ok, so small town in the ‘city’ limits) girl in me comes out. Today was one of those days. Normally when the cats leave me a present, it isn’t any big deal. They carry it off or Matt does and I never see it again. Not so today. Scout, our loveable, energetic 2 yo black lab, had found a new toy and we didn’t want her to keep it. And, of course, Matt was on his way back to work from lunch so he didn’t have time to take care of it. So it’s either keep the dogs in the house all afternoon, which isn’t normally an issue, but today it would have been, because that’s just how things go. So I was left with the task of disposing of the present. Thankfully, I think, it was still in one piece and not completely chewed up or anything. Matt said, “I just take two sticks, pick it up and walk half way down the drive and pitch it in the field.” Not me! No way. This wasn’t some little critter. It was a RAT!!! EEEEEKKKKKSSS!! Gross!!! So, I did the next best thing, I got the pooper scooper! It wouldn’t fall out of that, and I wouldn’t have to pick it back up. I walked half way down the drive, very proud of myself for my ingenuity. Tossed the thing into the field and watched as it fell about 2 inches on the other side of the fence. (No one ever said I was good at throwing things, especially with a pooper scooper) I decided that was far enough for me, came in and washed my hands at least 30 times and almost soaked them in bleach. I know it would take a long time for those rat cooties to climb all the way up the handle of the pooper scooper to reach my hand, but I’m not taking any chances!! 

Leave a Reply

