The Big "D"

First of all, I want to say I’m not condemning anyone of anything. This is just my prospective.

While sitting at the dentist office yesterday I overheard the two ladies next to me talking. No, I wasn’t eaves dropping, it was a small waiting room. They were apparently both divorced. They were both sitting there talking about the difficulties they had with the ex-husbands. Getting insurance info and even getting them to see their kids. Later on I watched the movie “Tyler Perry’s Why I got Married Too.” I watched it and saw the people going thru a divorce on there. And a few weeks ago I looked in the paper and was completely amazed at how many people in our small county had applied for a divorce. It made me think.

My parents have been married for over 30 years, my in-laws near 40. My grandparents were married over 50! My husband and I have been married for 13. When I tell people that today they are amazed. Oh wow, that’s a long time they say. I think about how sad that is, when I compare it to my family. I don’t want 13 years to be a long time. My neighbors have been married for 62 years. They are so happy still. I am so glad that when I got married I knowingly made the decision that it was “till death do us part”. I want to be married to my husband for 80 years, maybe longer. My Papa told me “We Crow’s (my maiden name) don’t get divorced.” at my wedding. I took that to heart. I know my marriage is far from perfect, we often fight like little kids. But that’s ok. No one ever said being married would be easy.

A young friend said “Why can’t relationships be like the movies? It would be so much easier.” I laughed, because I remember thinking that in the past. But now I realize that yes, they might be easier, but they’d be a lot less interesting and would get old and way to predictable quickly.

I have no plans to ever be divorced, not that anyone ever does. I try very hard to keep that word completely out of my vocabulary. (Although, I must admit that the words mysteriously disappeared, while listening to the Dixie Chicks sing “Goodbye Earl” or watching “Fried Green Tomatoes” do occasionally go thru my head, lol.) I am so happy that I am married and that I don’t have to deal with the difficulties that divorce brings with it. I pray daily for my husband and for my marriage and for the future marriages of my children. I pray that we will continue the family tradition of long marriages. Life is hard enough with out having to deal with the big “D”. 

One thought on “The Big "D"

Leave a Reply

