Lessons learned when Looking back

I don’t really have time to be sitting here writing, but this has been on my mind a lot lately. So, I’m guessing God wants me to get it out there.

You know the verse that says “God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle”. Do you sometimes wonder how He knows that you can handle more than you do? Even sometimes in the midst of an issue that is one you know you can handle, do you sometimes wonder why? I have, I still do. However, now I’m at a point in my life that I can look back and see the why’s on some things. Guess, that means I’ve actually got older enough that have something to look back that far on and remember.

Lately I’ve been looking back at our time spent in MI. We loved it there and had a blast the eight years we lived there. We made lifelong friends that became our family. But when we had been there about 2-3 years we knew we wanted to move back closer to our families. God decided to answer that request with, “Wait for another 5 years and 2 kids and then you can move back”. If we hadn’t stayed that extra 5 years there are lessons we wouldn’t have learned, friends we wouldn’t have made, experiences we would have missed out on.

Lately we’ve had the opportunity to draw on those lessons and experiences and help ourselves and others. We’ve known how to handle situations and be friends and the givers of advice based on our experiences. Lessons we learned from those who helped us and loved us along the way have now been passed on to others. God always knows the why when we don’t. It’s nice to be able to look back now and know myself, and to see that His was are always the best ways, and that ‘He knows the plans He has for us.’ I want to take a moment to encourage you and tell you that it is possible that one day you will be able to look back and see what was going on when God was teaching you.

One thought on “Lessons learned when Looking back

Leave a comment