Summer Flavors

So this is our 5th year at our house. I still haven’t quite figured out how to grow a garden in rocks, but I did manage some green beans and potatoes that are now ready to be picked. So that got me thinking, a beef roast with green beans and new potatoes sounded amazing. But to be honest I don’t think I’ve ever cooked green beans and new potatoes before. I know I’ve eaten them, My grannie used to cook them all the time. She even canned them. So I got on the internet and searched for a recipe. The first I found was from Paula Deen- sounded delicious, but it took over an hour and I didn’t want to wait that long. Then I found another one that said it was kid friendly, but it didn’t have bacon in it. So I started concocting my own recipe. Here’s what I came up with.

Green Beans -straight from the garden
New tiny potatoes-straight from the garden
  (I only picked enough for what I thought we’d need for dinner, so no real measurements)
Salt (a dash or two)
Sugar (just a pinch)
Minced onion (how ever much you want, I like a lot)
Real Bacon bits (same as the onion)
Minced Garlic (just a small bit)
Butter (I had 3 T left on a stick so I used that)

I boiled the potatoes (whole w/skin on), and beans together with the salt, sugar and minced onion until I thought they were done.
Then I drained it and put it back in the hot pan, set it on the burner that was turned off but still warm and added the bacon bits, garlic and butter and stirred it until the butter was melted.

I’d say it was the best green beans I’ve ever made. Even my picky eater K said they were way better than the normal ones, the ones he hates….

Put that together with a beef chuck roast that I thru in the slow cooker with some onion and seasoned meat tenderizer (while it was still frozen), and a can of pear halves and we had a super yummy easy dinner. Talk about simple!! Hope I can be this easily creative tomorrow night- if not, I think I’ve got a frozen pizza!!

Have a good one!!

Leave a Reply

