Growing up

I remember being 10 and thinking- “In only 6 more years I can drive.” Those six years seemed to take forever. Then all of a sudden I was 16 and driving and dealing with all that high school teenage drama. Then came college and more “high school” drama, with a bit more stress added in b/c I was on my own. Now I sit here at 35 and look back and I wouldn’t go back there for anything. I love being a grown-up. I love my freedoms and respect my responsibilities. I love where I am in my life, and wouldn’t change it. As I sit here and look at my life, I have stress, but it is meaningless b/c of the blessings I have. Four months ago a dear friend of mine lost her life to cancer. She has young children who she will never see grow-up. She won’t get old and sit on her front porch with her beautiful, aging hands, hold those of the husband of her youth. Life is so short, it can be gone before you know it. I’ll be honest, I’ve been thinking about this post for awhile now. Trying to figure out if I should right it or not. Is it worth it to even state my opinion on this topic, but as of today–I’ve kind of had it!

When we graduate high school we are expected to grow up and move on to college or work or some other area in life. We are expected to leave the childish behaviors behind and join the adult world. My question is–why is it that it seems so many people don’t. More times than I care to count in the last 2 weeks my life has been affected by childish “high school” drama. People need to wake up and realize that it’s time to move on with their lives. God did not put us here to stay in one place but to grow and expand our horizons. If we constantly revert back to the childish ways of dealing with things we don’t like how can we ever truly do that. It’s especially sad when the people acting this way have kids. How will their children ever know what a grown-up is supposed to act like? Are we creating a world of 35 year old plus, high school kids?? Most of the stuff that people act so childish about isn’t even important. Who cares, if it doesn’t affect your quality of life and your ability to chose to pursue happiness. If you or one of those close to you aren’t grievously injured in one way or another by the situation, MOVE ON! GROW UP! Life is short, you could be dead tomorrow and never experience those precious moments with your family, just like my friend. If I have learned anything from the loss of my friend it’s that this “stuff” isn’t important. Nothing is important, but God, your family and your health. If you have those things and especially in that order, you can deal with anything, and if it doesn’t fit into those categories IT DOESN’T MATTER. Be thankful for the blessings you have. God has given us more than we can ever hope to deserve. Don’t discredit him by acting like a childish teenager when something doesn’t go your way. So- keep your nose in your own business, focus on and be thankful for your blessings, and if something comes up that isn’t exactly the way you want it to be-get over it. Don’t do things to be spiteful. I mean seriously- how appealing is that, it makes you a grumpy person and NO ONE wants to be around a grumpy person. I think this sums my thought up nicely.

 

“Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply.Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.” Ronald Reagan

One thought on “Growing up

  1. Cecily,I enjoyed reading your thoughts today. I felt much the same way after my friend, Jenny, died from cancer three years ago. 😦 It really makes you look at things differently. Makes you want to hug your children more. Makes you want to shout to the world that the little things they are getting upset about just are not important.Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

