Surreal

This weekend while sitting on the couch watching TV with my hubby I discovered a girl I graduated with was convicted of plotting her ex-husband’s murder, another person from the same area is a serial killer. Two other people from there are famous country music singers. And then there’s the rest of us, who sit here watching our TV’s wondering- what happened to make these people’s lives turn out so different from mine. What did I do, or not do that has put me where I am. The more I think on this the more I discover that in the grand scheme of things it doesn’t really matter. What does matter is that I have a God who loves me enough that He gave His son for me- and I’m just plain ole’ me. I’m not famous for doing anything (good or bad). So I am safe and secure in the fact that no matter what happens to me in my life I will be okay. I will win in the end. Then I think about the fact that these people are God’s children too. He’s there for them just as he is me. That’s not something we often want to think about. That God love’s the murderers and serial killers just like He loves us. (God loves famous country singers too, :-D, but the point of this is more focused on the other two people I mentioned) He gave up His son for them too. In God’s eyes, a sin is a sin. The punishment for sin is death, separation from Him. I was a very lucky child to be raised in a family that loves God and showed me that love every day (whether I wanted it or not). So at an early age I decided to give my life to Him and accept His forgiveness. I didn’t have to face any part of my life without Him. Unfortunately that’s not true for a lot of people out there. They think that He doesn’t exist or they aren’t good enough- or any number of thoughts that prevent them from accepting. I know that in the case of the above mentioned people I will likely never see them in person to tell them that God loves them and accepts them no matter what, sins, scars, bumps, bruises and all. So as I sit here in my life cozy comfy and wrapped in God’s love I can pray. I can pray that God will find someone to reach them. Someone to show them the love that my parents showed me. Someone to teach them that God loves them too.

Leave a Reply

